delivering responsive, innovative IT across the University of Oxford

Search Google Appliance


The University has in place a framework of governance and assurance groups which guides the activity related to its Strategic Plan for IT and the expenditure required to deliver it.

In this section you will find out what these groups do, and be pointed to more detailed information.


IT Committee

The principal IT governance group is the IT Committee (ITC), a Committee of Council.  ITC is responsible for all matters relating to the management and maintenance of the University’s central IT policies, facilities and services, including expenditure from the IT capital envelope and development of the services delivered by IT Services.

Chaired by Professor Tim Coulson, Department of Zoology. ITC meets twice a term.

More information is available from the Committee’s website or the Committee’s Secretary, Abigail Cooke by email at

Sub-groups of ITC

A number of sub-groups of ITC have been established to ensure that IT projects funded from the development fund are prioritised according to user and/or business needs and that decisions taken by ITC are as robust as possible.   

ITC Capital Sub-group

The ITC Capital Sub-group reviews requests for funding referred to ITC by the IT Boards and advises on their approval.

Those wanting further information about the Capital Sub-group hould contact Abigail Cooke.

The IT Boards

The IT Boards are intended engage stakeholders in IT in their respective areas more closely in decision-making around capital investment and service development. The Boards report to ITC and are expected to work closely with the appropriate functional committees of Council.

There are six IT Boards:

  • Digital Content (secretary: Jon Ray (Programme Mananger – Gardens, Libraries and Museums Digital Strategy)) 
    Covers use of technology to manage the collections, improve access, and support research and teaching 
  • Education IT (secretary: Jeremy Welch (Head of Technology Developments, Student Administration))
    Covers IT systems for admissions and on-course student management and use of IT for teaching and learning
  • Infrastructure (secretary: Christopher Cattermole (Head of Planning and Resource Management, Infrastructure Services, IT Services))
    Covers networks, the data centre, and the telephone system
  • Research IT (secretary: Lotte Boon (Head, Research Systems and Information Management Team, Research Services))
    Covers use of IT for administering research grants and meeting funding bodies' reporting requirements
  • Research Computing (secretary: Dai Jenkins (Head of Research Computing and Support Services, Academic IT, IT Services))
    Covers IT systems for managing research data
  • User Services and IT Excellence (secretary: Ian Teasdale (Deputy Director, Customer Services, IT Services))
    Covers centrally provided IT for admin staff

Chaired by a senior member of the University, each Board meets twice a term and may approve individual project funding requests up to a value of £300,000. Requests for amounts above that amount are referred to the IT Committee.

The following groups have the functions of an IT Board within their remit:

Those wanting further information about the Boards in general should contact Abigail Cooke. Enquiries regarding the work of a specific Board should be directed to the relevant Board Secretary.

The IT Architecture Group  (ITAG)

ITAG  advises ITC on

  • matters relating to technical strategy, frameworks, standards and policies for the provision of IT services to the University, in line with strategic planning across the wider University, including, for example, interoperability of systems, security, provision of shared infrastructure, and managed personal computing platforms,
  • emerging trends and developments in IT and how they will affect service delivery,
  • procurement of equipment and its alignment with agreed technical standards.

Chaired by a senior member of the IT Services department, the Group currently meets once a month.

Those wanting further information about ITAG should contact Dr Mike Fraser, by email at

The Portfolio Assurance Group (IT PAG)

PAG is a high-level group which:

  • provides assurance and advice to business owners and service and programme managers  to ensure services meet user need,
  • provides ongoing assurance to the CIO regarding the risk status and progress of the portfolio, and
  • identifies and monitors risks, issues and opportunities across the portfolio of services and programmes run by the department.

Chaired by Dr Sean Duffy, CIO, the Group currently meets quarterly.

Those wanting further information about the Boards should contact the Group’s Secretary, Mrs Philippa Days, by email at

Role of IT Services’ Senior Management Team

IT Services’ Senior Management Team (SMT) is responsible for all aspects of the department’s business. Comprising the CIO, his deputies, and the group directors, it:

  • discusses and agrees courses of action regarding the implementation of the University’s strategic plan for IT,
  • considers matters relating to HR, finance and the department’s physical estate, providing direction and making decisions as required,
  • reviews all project requests, briefs and PIDs, authorising their progression through the  approval process and, where further work is required, providing feedback,
  • oversees the quality and delivery of the services provided by the department to the wider University, and
  • commissions reviews on specific aspects of the department’s activities or performance, receives the reports and acts on their recommendations.

Chaired by Dr Sean Duffy, Head of Department and CIO, SMT meets on alternate Tuesdays. Sub-groups of SMT meet weekly on Monday mornings, primarily to review project documentation and recruitment business cases.

Those wanting further information about SMT should contact Carol Steels by email at